Canon 1dx ii vs. Canon C200

socialshot309's picture

I'm a professional photographer that is trying to get more into video. I have a Canon 1dx ii and I think it takes great video, but it's obviously lacking the CLog and raw capabilities plus more that the C200 has to offer. So, is it worth saving up the money and getting a C200 to add to my two-person business since we are going heavier and heavier with video all the time? Video is starting to become more important and lucrative for us than photography, so I am willing to save the money over time to get it if it is truly worth it. The biggest thing I want to know is if the CLog makes so much of a difference that it is definitely worth spending the extra money to get the C200. Thank you ahead of time for anyone that answers!

Kevinp's picture
Plus Member

Man that is a tough question !  There are actually 3 different C-Logs.... Watch the video on youtube by Carlos Quintero titled "How to Expose Canon Log on Canon Cinema Cameras" and he also has a video showing C-Log on a C200 and then also color corrected.  Mainly you get extra dynamic range is all... you can either slap a rec 709 on the clog  or you have to color grade it yourself or apply a custom lut, so depends on what "type" of video work you are doing.... Since you already have the 1 dx II may i suggest you look at the Canon XC15 ????  It does 4k AND C-Log, MA-400 mic adapter, waveform and peaking, slow and fast motion, works great in semi-auto mode, several modes of great image stabilization, the list goes on... only thing missing on the XC15 is great low light capability.

MGM1952's picture
Plus Member